Coconut bread that actually tastes good!

So it’s been exactly one week since we made the dietary changes of cutting out nuts because of phytic acid and adding in more dairy, bone broth, and fermented cod liver/butter oil and my daughters teeth have improved dramatically.  This time last week they were extremely transparent with lots of brown etching marks and decay and this week all of her teeth, with exception of the three teeth she’s had troubles with anyway look better than they ever have.  It has worked that fast.  Her three molars that have the original cavities in them still have a ways to go but they’re looking a lot better too.

Phytic acid is a killer!  I have a hard time believing it doesn’t have some important role but historically, most people haven’t relied heavily on raw nuts for a large part of their dietary needs.  It’s probably guilty of wreaking havoc on a lot of folks these days thanks in part to low carb type diets and the ease of accessibility of nuts.  I know we went from eating them only occasionally to eating them all the freaking time!

Okay, on to the food!  Coconuts are low in the antinutrient phytic acid and are allowed on lots of diets so it’s really gained a lot of popularity lately.  I’ve used coconut flour off and on for several years and really only enjoy it when my palate is fully cleansed and I don’t crave real bread and sweets.  However, even then it usually leaves a lot to be desired.

Coconut flour is very dense and absorbs a lot of moisture so the end product is always either very heavy and soggy from the loads of liquids needed otherwise it’s heavy and dry to the point that it’s difficult to swallow.  I’m okay with sweets made with coconut flour to be soggier and just tell myself it’s like bread pudding but anytime I try to concoct a breadlike recipe it’s only tolerable at best.

Well not any more!  This bread recipe uses a mixture of coconut and tapioca flour and is hands down the best I’ve had.  It’s hard not to eat it slice after slice with just butter slathered all over it…all by myself.

Coconut bread that actually tastes good!

I won’t try to convince you that it tastes just like wheat bread ’cause that would be a lie, but you really can use it like wheat bread without it falling apart the second you touch it and it really does taste good.  It even gets a little crispy when I put slices under the broiler.

The tapioca flour is what makes this recipe and is worth the effort to hunt down although I can’t find a straight answer on the phytic acid content of tapioca, so I’m not making it all the time just in case it’s high.

The kids love it and even Hubs eats it plain and he’s a really picky eater.  (Not saying he’s in love with it, but he does eat it voluntarily which is a big deal.)

So, without further ado, here’s a link to the original recipe.  I double the recipe and bake it in a 9 x 5 loaf pan lined with parchment paper.  My baking soda and/or cream of tartar must not be super fresh because my bread never rises as high as you see in the link but it still tastes great and holds together well…Oh, and it’s not dry or soggy! 😉

Leave a Reply

