Best Chili Seasoning Recipe…In The World!

 

Bulldozing pasture 034My husband looooves chili and has for as long as I’ve known him. In the  first couple of years of our marriage I always made chili using premixed seasoning packets from the store. Those usually have a few ingredients that aren’t necessary if you make your own or even good for you, but they always tasted pretty good. (Probably because of those same nasty ingredients like MSG!) Chili was and still is one of my go to meals if I haven’t planned ahead since I usually have everything I need, or at least most everything I need. I occasionally would forget to buy those little premixed packets and would experiment with recipes until I found, “the one.” It was such a big hit with Hubs I quit buying those packets all together.

Over the years, I have served chili to company using this homemade mix and I have yet to have, even once, any chili left over when I do even though I make a huge vat of it when I make it for guests. It really is that good. Serving chili with a little shredded cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips makes it extra tasty, but it’s definitely good enough to stand alone too. I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t follow the recipe perzactly (FYI: how we say exactly around here) I just eyeball it with all of the herbs and spices I use. Here’s the basic recipe I use:

1/4 c chili powder

2 T + 2 t onion powder

1 T + 1 t garlic powder

1 T + 1 t dry mustard (don’t skip it!!)

1 T + 1 t ground cumin

1 T + 1 t paprika

1 T + 1 t ground oregano

1 t ground black pepper

1/4 t salt

Mix all the ingredients together and store in a sealed container. It makes a little more than 3/4 cup and you need to add 2 tablespoons per 1/2 pound of meat. I can’t tell you how good this mix is so you’ll need to try it for yourself. If you make it don’t skip any of the ingredients. You can adjust the amounts to your liking but trust me, everyone of those herbs and spices is absolutely essential in making chili taste amazing!

Leave a Reply

